top of page

Hello, My Name is Doris (2015)

Updated: Aug 13, 2021

Most uncommon movie ever watched


For the audience who has not still watched the movie


Hello My Name is Doris

IMDB Rating – 6.6/10

My rating – 8/10


The story in short – A woman (maybe on the edge of her 60s), has a crush on a boy (her co-worker) who is on the edge of his 20s. She needs to make an affair with that boy and she changes her lifestyle to match with that boy. We will see, will she be able to make an affair with her crush?


My recommendation – Absolutely this is a movie with an amazing plot. I am sure, you may not feel any boring while watching this movie. And I am sure, you have never watched a movie with this similar plot.


For the audience who has already watched the movie


This movie has been categorized as comedy, drama, and romance. But fortunately, or unfortunately, I couldn’t find any comedy scene inside this whole movie. If we watched the movie only inside there are so many comedy scenes, but there was something very deep that hurt deeply inside every comedy scene. The plot of this movie is amazing. Every moment of this movie teaches us how hurtful is to be alone.


The movie is started with the scene of the funeral of Doris’s mom. That moment is a really sad moment for Doris. She is still single (As well, she has never used to be a girlfriend). The scriptwriter was great at reading her mind. She is a person who collects many old and useless kinds of stuff and stores them in her house. That describes her mind well. And that describes her loneliness.


John has met her at the lift on his first day at the office. At first look, she had a crush on him. And, every time, she thinks, John loves her and John has a crush on her. But, when we continue watching this movie, we can understand, there is not a crush on her in John’s mind. But she tries hard to make a crush on her in John’s mind. But every time she fails. Every effort she made was not a comedy for me, those efforts were hurtful for me because I felt how much does she hurt inside when she fails her efforts.

The acting of Sally Field (as Doris) was perfect. As well the performance of Max Greenfield (as John) also was good. There is no doubt, the plot of this movie is perfect. No-fault to complain about that. This was one of the most uncommon plots I have ever seen.


But, I have some complaints about filming this movie. The camera angles used to film this movie was not good for me. As well as, no moving camera shots were used in this movie. If good camera movements were used for this movie, Surely I am rating this as 9.5/10.


Sometimes you may think why am I rating 9.5 instead of 10. There is a reason for that. I really liked and I always wished while watching the movie to have an ending with the engagement of Doris and John. I am cutting that 0.5 because the writer didn’t give me that ending.


Written By - Ishara Wettasingha

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page